Plum curculio protection period

Background Information for this page
Return to Apple list for Westhampton MA
   Need for protection against plum curculio egglaying begins around fruit set. 
    A final plum curculio insecticide application on Sunday, May 27 is expected to give adequate protection until the end of the immigration period on Friday, June 8 (indicated by yellow highlight).
If using Surround deterrent, rough estimate for decline in plum curculio egglaying is Wednesday, June 27.
Weather data for Westhampton MA.  Forecast values begin September 18, 2018
95% McIntosh Petal Fall estimated or reported as:  May 17,  Thursday
Full-dose
Plum Curculio insecticide
application date
Cumulaitve post-Petal Fall 308 degree day protection window accumulated by spray date Inches
Rain
Estimated
end of protection
Percent of
PC control period
(& PC degree days)
completed by end of protection
Thu, May 17   95% McIntosh
Petal Fall
0 May 29, Tue 53%   (163) 
Fri, May 18   10 0 May 30, Wed 59%   (182) 
Sat, May 19   12 0.48 May 31, Thu 64%   (199) 
Sun, May 20   27 0.12 June 1, Fri 71%   (220) 
Mon, May 21   40 0 June 2, Sat 79%   (244) 
Tue, May 22   48 0.09 June 3, Sun 83%   (255) 
Wed, May 23   65 0 June 4, Mon 84%   (258) 
Thu, May 24   80 0 June 5, Tue 86%   (265) 
Fri, May 25   100 0 June 6, Wed 89%   (273) 
Sat, May 26   124 0 June 8, Fri 98%   (301) 
Sun, May 27   132 0.27 June 9, Sat 100%   (317) 
Mon, May 28   140 0.02 June 10, Sun 100%   (331) 
Tue, May 29   161 0 June 11, Mon 100%   (343) 
Wed, May 30   180 0 June 12, Tue 100%   (357) 
Thu, May 31   197 0 June 13, Wed 100%   (372) 
Fri, June 1   218 0.03 June 14, Thu 100%   (391) 
Sat, June 2   242 0 June 15, Fri 100%   (402) 
Sun, June 3   254 0 June 17, Sun 100%   (441) 
Mon, June 4   257 0.79 June 18, Mon 100%   (466) 
Tue, June 5   263 0.07 June 19, Tue 100%   (490) 
Wed, June 6   272 0 June 20, Wed 100%   (507) 
Thu, June 7   283 0 June 21, Thu 100%   (526) 
Fri, June 8   299 0 June 22, Fri 100%   (542)