Plum curculio protection period

Background Information for this page
Return to Apple list for Easthampton MA
   Need for protection against plum curculio egglaying begins around fruit set. 
    A final plum curculio insecticide application on Saturday, May 26 is expected to give adequate protection until the end of the immigration period on Thursday, June 7 (indicated by yellow highlight).
If using Surround deterrent, rough estimate for decline in plum curculio egglaying is Sunday, June 24.
Weather data for Easthampton MA.  Forecast values begin May 25, 2018
95% McIntosh Petal Fall estimated or reported as:  May 17,  Thursday
Full-dose
Plum Curculio insecticide
application date
PC degree days accumulated on spray date Inches
Rain
Estimated
end of protection
Percent of
PC control period
(& PC degree days)
completed by end of protection
Thu, May 17   95% McIntosh
Petal Fall
0 May 29, Tue 55%   (169) 
Fri, May 18   10 0 May 30, Wed 60%   (186) 
Sat, May 19   12 0.47 May 31, Thu 66%   (202) 
Sun, May 20   27 0.14 June 1, Fri 71%   (220) 
Mon, May 21   40 0 June 2, Sat 76%   (236) 
Tue, May 22   48 0.09 June 3, Sun 81%   (250) 
Wed, May 23   65 0 June 4, Mon 86%   (265) 
Thu, May 24   80 0 June 5, Tue 91%   (280) 
Fri, May 25   100 0 June 6, Wed 96%   (296) 
Sat, May 26   123 0.06 June 8, Fri 100%   (328) 
Sun, May 27   133 0.47 June 9, Sat 100%   (345) 
Mon, May 28   145 0.22 June 10, Sun 100%   (361) 
Tue, May 29   165 0 June 11, Mon 100%   (378) 
Wed, May 30   182 0 June 12, Tue 100%   (395) 
Thu, May 31   198 0 June 13, Wed 100%   (412) 
Fri, June 1   216 0 June 14, Thu 100%   (430) 
Sat, June 2   232   June 15, Fri 100%   (448) 
Sun, June 3   246   June 15, Fri 100%   (448) 
Mon, June 4   261   June 16, Sat 100%   (466) 
Tue, June 5   277   June 17, Sun 100%   (484) 
Wed, June 6   292   June 18, Mon 100%   (502) 
Thu, June 7   308   June 19, Tue 100%   (521)