Flyspeck prevention, Full-dose Pristine: August-September spray dates

Background Information for this page
Return to Apple list for Easthampton MA
Weather data for Easthampton MA.  Forecast values begin May 31, 2018
      Continuous protection from roughly 14 days after Petal Fall (May 31) until 30 days before harvest preserves maximum lag between end of protection from the final fungicide application and potential for visible SBFS before harvest. 
      With continuous protection prior to the final fungicide spray, apples harvested by September 20 should be at low risk of visible sooty blotch and flyspeck (SBFS) if the Protection End Date from the final fungicide application is after August 19.  Apples harvested by October 10 (or by  October 31) should be at low risk if the Protection End Date is after August 30 (or September 5).
     These estimates are based on moderate infection pressure and climatic average temperature and rain/wetting hour accumulation.  Block history, local SBFS fungal density, tree size, cultivar, pruning, wind & sun exposure, air drainage, mowing and other site characteristics determine the actual risk of SBFS becoming visible before harvest.
Weather data for Easthampton MA.  Forecast values begin May 31, 2018
Inches Rain Spray Date
Estimates assume that fungicide was applied before rain on spray date
Protection End Date
for full-dose
Pristine
(deadline for postinfection strobilurin or Topsin M)
Date flyspeck infections could appear
(Left side = rough guess of flyspeck show date if weather beyond end of forecast range is in top 20% of years for both temperature and wet hours.  An "x" means there is no need for this scenario because show date is within forecast range.
    
Right side = rough guess of flyspeck show date for small, open canopy, low-risk trees.)
Wed, August 1 Aug. 20  (Aug 24) (Sep. 5) September 21 (Oct. 26)
Thu, August 2 Aug. 21  (Aug 25) (Sep. 6) September 23 (> Oct. 31)
Fri, August 3 Aug. 22  (Aug 26) (Sep. 7) September 25  
Sat, August 4 Aug. 23  (Aug 27) (Sep. 8) September 26  
Sun, August 5 Aug. 24  (Aug 28) (Sep. 10) September 28  
Mon, August 6 Aug. 25  (Aug 29) (Sep. 11) September 30  
  Tue, August 7 Aug. 26  (Aug 30) (Sep. 12) October 2  
Wed, August 8 Aug. 27  (Aug 31) (Sep. 13) October 4  
Thu, August 9 Aug. 28  (Sep 1) (Sep. 14) October 6  
Fri, August 10 Aug. 29  (Sep 2) (Sep. 15) October 9  
Sat, August 11 Aug. 30  (Sep 3) (Sep. 16) October 11  
Sun, August 12 Aug. 31  (Sep 4) (Sep. 17) October 14  
Mon, August 13 Sep. 1  (Sep 5) (Sep. 19) October 17  
  Tue, August 14 Sep. 3  (Sep 7) (Sep. 21) October 23  
Wed, August 15 Sep. 4  (Sep 8) (Sep. 23) October 26  
Thu, August 16 Sep. 5 (Sep. 24) > Oct. 31  
Fri, August 17 Sep. 6 (Sep. 25)    
Sat, August 18 Sep. 7 (Sep. 27)    
Sun, August 19 Sep. 8 (Sep. 28)    
Mon, August 20 Sep. 9 (Sep. 30)    
  Tue, August 21 Sep. 10   (Oct. 1)    
Wed, August 22 Sep. 11 (Oct. 2)    
Thu, August 23 Sep. 12 (Oct. 4)    
Fri, August 24 Sep. 13 (Oct. 5)    
Sat, August 25 Sep. 14 (Oct. 6)    
Sun, August 26 Sep. 15 (Oct. 8)    
Mon, August 27 Sep. 16 (Oct. 9)    
  Tue, August 28 Sep. 17   (Oct. 11)    
Wed, August 29 Sep. 18 (Oct. 12)    
Thu, August 30 Sep. 19 (Oct. 14)    
Fri, August 31 Sep. 20 (Oct. 16)    
Sat, September 1 Sep. 21 (Oct. 17)    
Sun, September 2 Sep. 22 (Oct. 19)    
Mon, September 3 Sep. 23 (Oct. 21)    
  Tue, September 4 Sep. 24   (Oct. 23)    
Wed, September 5 Sep. 25 (Oct. 25)    
Thu, September 6 Sep. 26 (Oct. 27)    
Fri, September 7 Sep. 27 (Oct. 29)    
Sat, September 8 Sep. 28 (> Oct. 31)    
Sun, September 9 Sep. 29      
Mon, September 10 Sep. 30      
  Tue, September 11 Oct. 1        
Wed, September 12 Oct. 2      
Thu, September 13 Oct. 3      
Fri, September 14 Oct. 4      
Sat, September 15 Oct. 5