Flyspeck prevention, Full-dose Captan or Ziram: 1st cover through June

Background Information for this page
Return to Apple list for Easthampton MA
   Sooty bloch and Flyspeck (SBFS) are caused by a variety of fungal species.  SBFS fungi begin colonizing and growing on young fruit about 14 days after Petal Fall, and about half of the season's total SBFS colonies have begun by 50 days after Petal Fall (May 27 to July 1 at this location).  While precise timing of protection against SBFS is much less critical than for fire blight and apple scab, to preserve maximum lag between the end of protection by the final fungicide application and potential for visible SBFS before harvest, maintain continuous fungicide protection from May 27 until 30 days before harvest.
Weather data for Easthampton MA.  Forecast values begin September 24, 2017
Inches Rain Spray Date
Estimates assume that fungicide was applied before rain on spray date
Protection End Date
for full-dose
Captan or Ziram
(deadline for postinfection strobilurin or Topsin M)
Date flyspeck infections could appear
(Left side = rough guess of flyspeck show date if weather beyond end of forecast range is in top 20% of years for both temperature and wet hours.  An "x" means there is no need for this scenario because show date is within forecast range.
    
Right side = rough guess of flyspeck show date for small, open canopy, low-risk trees.)
0.15 Thu, May 18 May 26  (May. 30) x July 6 (Jul. 17)
0.07 Fri, May 19 May 26  (May. 30) x July 6 (Jul. 17)
0 Sat, May 20 May 26  (May. 30) x July 6 (Jul. 17)
0 Sun, May 21 May 26  (May. 30) x July 6 (Jul. 17)
0.25 Mon, May 22 May 26  (May. 30) x July 6 (Jul. 17)
0 Tue, May 23 May 26  (May. 30) x July 6 (Jul. 17)
0 Wed, May 24 May 26  (May. 30) x July 6 (Jul. 17)
0.52 Thu, May 25 May 26  (May. 30) x July 6 (Jul. 17)
1.06 Fri, May 26 May 31  (Jun. 6) x July 10 (Jul. 23)
0 Sat, May 27 June 5  (Jun. 16) x July 12 (Jul. 25)
0 Sun, May 28 June 5  (Jun. 16) x July 12 (Jul. 25)
0.15 Mon, May 29 June 5  (Jun. 16) x July 12 (Jul. 25)
0 Tue, May 30 June 5  (Jun. 16) x July 12 (Jul. 25)
0.57 Wed, May 31 June 5  (Jun. 16) x July 12 (Jul. 25)
0.03 Thu, June 1 June 6  (Jun. 16) x July 12 (Jul. 26)
0 Fri, June 2 June 6  (Jun. 16) x July 12 (Jul. 26)
0 Sat, June 3 June 6  (Jun. 16) x July 12 (Jul. 26)
0.19 Sun, June 4 June 6  (Jun. 16) x July 12 (Jul. 26)
0.76 Mon, June 5 June 6  (Jun. 16) x July 12 (Jul. 26)
1.35 Tue, June 6 June 16  (Jun. 18) x July 13 (Jul. 27)
0.01 Wed, June 7 June 19  (Jun. 26) x July 19 (Aug. 4)
0 Thu, June 8 June 19  (Jun. 26) x July 19 (Aug. 4)
0 Fri, June 9 June 19  (Jun. 26) x July 19 (Aug. 4)
0 Sat, June 10 June 19  (Jun. 26) x July 19 (Aug. 4)
0 Sun, June 11 June 19  (Jun. 26) x July 19 (Aug. 4)
0 Mon, June 12 June 19  (Jun. 26) x July 19 (Aug. 4)
0 Tue, June 13 June 19  (Jun. 26) x July 19 (Aug. 4)
0 Wed, June 14 June 19  (Jun. 26) x July 19 (Aug. 4)
0 Thu, June 15 June 19  (Jun. 26) x July 19 (Aug. 4)
0.35 Fri, June 16 June 19  (Jun. 26) x July 19 (Aug. 4)
0.08 Sat, June 17 June 19  (Jun. 26) x July 19 (Aug. 4)
0.05 Sun, June 18 June 20  (Jun. 26) x July 20 (Aug. 4)
1.42 Mon, June 19 June 23  (Jun. 26) x July 20 (Aug. 4)
0.08 Tue, June 20 June 30  (Jul. 6) x July 26 (Aug. 10)
0 Wed, June 21 June 30  (Jul. 6) x July 26 (Aug. 10)
0 Thu, June 22 June 30  (Jul. 6) x July 26 (Aug. 10)
0.01 Fri, June 23 June 30  (Jul. 6) x July 26 (Aug. 10)
0.24 Sat, June 24 June 30  (Jul. 6) x July 26 (Aug. 10)
0.18 Sun, June 25 July 7  (Jul. 11) x August 2 (Aug. 15)
0 Mon, June 26 July 7  (Jul. 11) x August 2 (Aug. 15)
0.54 Tue, June 27 July 7  (Jul. 11) x August 2 (Aug. 15)
0 Wed, June 28 July 8  (Jul. 12) x August 3 (Aug. 17)
0 Thu, June 29 July 8  (Jul. 12) x August 3 (Aug. 17)
0.65 Fri, June 30 July 8  (Jul. 12) x August 3 (Aug. 17)