Petal Fall - June mite scouting frequency

Background Information for this page
Return to Apple list for Easthampton MA
Weather data for Easthampton MA.  Forecast values begin May 25, 2018
     These estimates of maximum safe intervals between sampling dates for European red mite (ERM) are based on temperature-driven development rate.  The time required for ERM to grow from egg to reproductive adults changes dramatically between cool versus hot temperatures.  Weekly sampling is usually adequate, but is more frequent than needed during cool temperatures.  Knowing the number of days between generations allows growers to reduce sample frequency during cool weather, and during hot weather indicates when intervals between samples may need to be as short as 4 days to detect population increase before foliar damage and tree stress occurs. 
     The resample dates are constrained to require at least one sample during the 7 days before egglaying starts for each generation.  Date for 2nd generation eggs is in green italic font, 3rd generation in red, and 4th generation in blue.  The 3rd and 4th generation egglaying start dates may be in July.
     Recommended treatment thresholds change through the summer.  See Background page for details.
Date on which mites were monitored Number of days before resampling if mite density was
"below threshold"
   Resample date
   if mite density was
   "below threshold"
McIntosh 95% Petal Fall
Thu, May 17   
---> 10 --->     May 27, Sun
Fri, May 18     ---> 10 --->     May 28, Mon
Sat, May 19     ---> 9 --->     May 28, Mon
Sun, May 20     ---> 9 --->     May 29, Tue
Mon, May 21     ---> 9 --->     May 30, Wed
Tue, May 22     ---> 8 --->     May 30, Wed
Wed, May 23     ---> 8 --->     May 31, Thu
Thu, May 24     ---> 8 --->     June 1, Fri
Fri, May 25     ---> 9 --->     June 3, Sun
Sat, May 26     ---> 10 --->     June 5, Tue
Sun, May 27     ---> 9 --->     June 5, Tue
Mon, May 28     ---> 9 --->     June 6, Wed
Tue, May 29     ---> 9 --->     June 7, Thu
Wed, May 30     ---> 10 --->     June 9, Sat
Thu, May 31     ---> 10 --->     June 10, Sun
Fri, June 1     ---> 10 --->     June 11, Mon
Sat, June 2     ---> 10 --->     June 12, Tue
Sun, June 3     ---> 9 --->     June 12, Tue
Mon, June 4     ---> 8 --->     June 12, Tue
Tue, June 5     ---> 7 --->     June 12, Tue
Wed, June 6     ---> 9 --->     June 15, Fri
Thu, June 7     ---> 9 --->     June 16, Sat
Fri, June 8     ---> 9 --->     June 17, Sun
Sat, June 9     ---> 9 --->     June 18, Mon
Sun, June 10     ---> 8 --->     June 18, Mon
Mon, June 11     ---> 8 --->     June 19, Tue
Tue, June 12     ---> 8 --->     June 20, Wed
Wed, June 13     ---> 8 --->     June 21, Thu
Thu, June 14     ---> 8 --->     June 22, Fri
Fri, June 15     ---> 8 --->     June 23, Sat
Sat, June 16     ---> 8 --->     June 24, Sun
Sun, June 17     ---> 7 --->     June 24, Sun
Mon, June 18     ---> 7 --->     June 25, Mon
Tue, June 19     ---> 7 --->     June 26, Tue
Wed, June 20     ---> 7 --->     June 27, Wed
Thu, June 21     ---> 7 --->     June 28, Thu  
Fri, June 22     ---> 6 --->     June 28, Thu  
Sat, June 23     ---> 7 --->     June 30, Sat  
Sun, June 24     ---> 7 --->     July 1, Sun  
Mon, June 25     ---> 7 --->     July 2, Mon  
Tue, June 26     ---> 6 --->     July 2, Mon  
Wed, June 27     ---> 6 --->     July 3, Tue
Thu, June 28     ---> 6 --->     July 4, Wed  
Fri, June 29     ---> 6 --->     July 5, Thu  
Sat, June 30     ---> 6 --->     July 6, Fri